Presentations we love: 2019

4 min Read Time

This is a list of our favorite presentations from 2019. We will update this list throughout the year.

Mature Microservices and How to Operate Them

Sarah Wells (@sarahjwells) at QCon London 2019

Mature Microservices video

Speeding Up Innovation

Adrian Cockcroft (@adrianco) at CraftConf - May 2019

Speeding Up Innovation video

Cultivating Production Excellence

Liz Fong-Jones (@lizthegrey) at QCon London 2019

production-excellence-qcon-london

(slides)

Building and Scaling High Performing Technology Organizations

Jez Humble (@jezhumble) at Agile India - March 2019

High Performing Technology Organizations video

If You Don’t Know Where You’re Going, It Doesn’t Matter How Fast You Get There

Nicole Forsgren (@nicolefv) at Google Cloud Next - April 2019 Know Where You're Going video

Safe Lambda Deployments

Sean Sullivan (@tinyrobots) at Seattle Serverless Meetup - February 2019

safe-lambda-deployment-slides

Software Design in the 21st Century

Martin Fowler (@martinfowler) at Etsy Engineering speaker series - February 2019 Software Design in the 21st Century video

The AWS Billing Machine and Optimizing Cloud Costs at Stripe

Ryan Lopopolo (@lopopolo) at DevOpsDays Seattle 2019

stripe-aws-billing-video

Etsy: Migrating a Monolith to the Cloud

Keyur Govande (@keyurdg) at SREcon19 Americas - March 2019

etsy-migration-to-google-cloud-video

Target’s Application Platform

Jay Chandrashekaran and Jim Beyers at Google Cloud Next - April 2019 Target Application Platform video

Applying the Serverless Mindset to Any Tech

Ben Kehoe (@ben11kehoe) at ServerlessDays Boston - March 2019 Applying the Serverless Mindset to Any Tech video

How AWS builds Serverless Services Using Serverless

Chris Munns (@chrismunns) at ServerlessDays Boston - March 2019 How AWS builds Serverless Services Using Serverless video

DevOps Vs. SRE: Competing Standards or Friends?

Seth Vargo (@sethvargo) at Google Cloud Next - April 2019 devops-vs-sre-video

Modern Continuous Delivery

Ken Mugrage (@kmugrage) at DevOpsDays Copenhagen - April 2019 mugrage-delivery-video

Progressive Delivery

James Governor (@monkchips) at QCon London 2019

Progressive Delivery video

Testing in Production at Scale at Uber

Amit Gud (@amitgud) - SRECon19 Americas - March 25, 2019

testing-in-production-uber-video

How Retailers Prepare for Black Friday on Google Cloud Platform

Kiran Davuluri, Jimit Ladha, and Andre Fatala at Google Cloud Next - April 2019 prepare-for-black-friday-video

Surviving Black Friday: tales from an e-commerce engineer at Glossier

Aaron Suggs (@ktheory) - PaymentsFn - April 17, 2019

glossier-black-friday-video

Platforms at Twilio: Unlocking Developer Effectiveness

Justin Kitagawa (@justinmkitagawa) at CraftConf - May 2019

twilio-platform-video

Moving Fast at Scale

Randy Shoup (@randyshoup) at CraftConf - May 2019

moving-fast-video

Cultivating Architecture

Birgitta Böckeler (@birgitta410) and Martin Fowler (@martinfowler) at CraftConf - May 2019

cultivating-architecture-video

(slides)

Database Schema Migrations with Zero Downtime

Michiel Rook (@michieltcs) at DevOpsDays Copenhagen - April 2019

database-schema-migration-video

Observability: Superpowers for Developers

Christine Yen (@cyen) at Monitorama PDX - June 2019

yen-monitorama-video

Taking Human Performance Seriously In Software

John Allspaw (@allspaw) at Monitorama PDX - June 2019

allspaw-monitorama-video

Integration Testing with Docker and Testcontainers

Kevin Wittek (@kiview) at JEEConf - April 2019

testcontainers-video

Scala Error Management: Future vs ZIO

John De Goes (@jdegoes) at Dublin Scala User Group - May 2019

scala-zio-video

(slides)

A Tour of Scala 3

Martin Odersky (@odersky) at Scala Days Lausanne 2019

Scala 3 video

(slides)

Deconstructing the Monolith at Shopify

Kirsten Westeinde (@kmkwesteinde) at Shopify Unite - June 2019

monolith-shopify-video

HBC Tech

We power the website and mobile experiences for Saks, Saks Off Fifth, Lord & Taylor and The Bay.