Presentations we love: 2018

5 min Read Time

2018 was a year of growth and learning at HBC Tech. Our organization embraced new technologies and new ways of building application software.

As the year comes to an end, let’s recognize some notable technical presentations from 2018.

Design Microservice Architectures the Right Way

Michael Bryzek (@mbryzek) at QCon New York 2018

Bryzek video

Closing Loops and Opening Minds: How To Take Control of Systems

Colm MacCárthaigh (@colmmacc) at AWS re:Invent 2018

Colm AWS video

Monoliths, Migrations, and Microservices

Randy Shoup (@randyshoup) at Reactive Summit Montreal 2018

Shoup Reactive Summit video

Scaling Your Architecture with Events and Services

Randy Shoup (@randyshoup) at Build Stuff 2018

Shoup Build Stuff video

Microservices at HBC

Sean Sullivan (@tinyrobots) at Portland Java User Group September 2018

hbc-microservices-image

The Data Behind DevOps: Becoming a High Performer

Dr. Nicole Forsgren (@nicolefv) at DevOps Enterprise Summit London 2018

Forsgren London video

You only have to change one thing to do the DevOps

Ken Mugrage (@kmugrage) at DevopsDays Oslo 2018

Mugrage devops video

No microservice is an island

Michele Titolo (@micheletitolo) at QCon New York 2018

Michele Titolo video

Try Catch Blocks for your Distributed System

Cecilia Deng (@cicikendiggit) at REdeploy 2018

Cecilia Deng video

AWS SDK for Java 2.0

Sean Sullivan (@tinyrobots) at Portland Java User Group August 2018

aws-sdk-java-image

Testing in production at LinkedIn

Szczepan Faber (@mockitoguy) at Devoxx Poland 2018

Testing In Production video

Effective Scala: Reloaded

Mirco Dotta (@mircodotta) at Voxxed Zurich 2018

Effective Scala: Reloaded video

Building a Social Graph at Nike with Amazon Neptune

Marc Wangenheim (@mwangenh) and Aditya Soni (@adityasoni84) at AWS re:Invent 2018

Amazon Neptune video

High Reliability Infrastructure Migrations

Julia Evans (@b0rk) at KubeCon Seattle 2018

Julia Evans video

Clouds with Silver Linings: Maximising Learning From Incidents

Ian Malpass (@indec) at DevOps Minneapolis August 2018

Ian Malpass video

Web performance made easy

Ewa Gasperowicz and Addy Osmani at Google I/O 2018

Ewa Gasperowicz and Addy Osmani video

Java API Design Best Practices

Jonathan Giles (@jonathangiles) at Devoxx Poland 2018

Jonathan Giles video

CI/CD for Serverless and Containerized Applications

Clare Liguori (@clare_liguori) at AWS re:Invent 2018

CI/CD video

Serverless Architectural Patterns and Best Practices

Drew Dennis and Maitreya Ranganath at AWS re:Invent 2018

Serverless patterns video

Kafka and Event-Oriented Architecture

Jay Kreps (@jaykreps) at Kafka Summit SF 2018

Jay Kreps Kafka video

Is Kafka a Database?

Martin Kleppmann (@martinkl) at Kafka Summit SF 2018

Martin Kleppman Kafka video

FiloDB: Real-time, In-Memory Time Series at Massive Scale

Evan Chan (@evanfchan) at Scale By The Bay 2018

Evan Chan video

Build containers faster with Jib

Q Chen (@coollog) and Appu Goundan (@loosebazooka) at Velocity Conf June 2018

Jib video

Kubernetes Is A Platform Platform

Joe Beda (@jbeda) at DevOpsDays Seattle 2018

Joe Beda Kubernetes video

Democratizing Distributed Systems

Brendan Burns (@brendandburns) at GOTO Amsterdam 2018

Brendan Burns distributed systems video

The Great Migration: from Monolith to Service-Oriented at AirBnb

Jessica Tai (@jessicamtai) at QCon San Francisco 2018

Jessica Tai AirBnb migration video

Full Cycle Developers at Netflix

Greg Burrell (@gburrell_greg) at QCon San Francisco 2018

Full Cycle Developers video

Why You Need A Software Delivery Machine

Rod Johnson (@springrod) at GOTO Copenhagen 2018

Software Delivery video

Paying Technical Debt at Scale - Migrations at Stripe

Will Larson (@lethain) at QCon San Francisco 2018

paying-technical-debt-video

How AWS Minimizes the Blast Radius of Failures

Peter Vosshall (@petervosshall) at AWS Re:Invent 2018

blast-radius-video

HBC Tech

We power the website and mobile experiences for Saks, Saks Off Fifth, Lord & Taylor and The Bay.